Real Talk: the DM I just got

🙋🏼‍♀️💬

Hi girlfriend, 

Do you know what happened yesterday? It was Tuesday. The day I send out my weekly emails. I was so busy I forgot until I laid my head on my pillow. And not only did I feel so rotten that I didn't get to it when I said I would (I promised myself and you that every Tuesday I'd write one). But you didn't hold me accountable. Not one person asked me how you are doing today. I am still waiting to see your newsletter. Is everything OK? And I get it. We're all busy living our lives, but when Elmo asks how everyone is doing, and the world responds, not well, let's check in on each other more. BTW, how are you doing today?? 

See the IG post.

And that's the perfect segway into today's topic: mental health (better a day late than skip a week, right?). 

When I planned our upcoming Mocktails for Mental Health event, I unknowingly hit the timing jackpot because May is Mental Health Awareness Month. Nailed it! (I mean, honestly, every month should be that theme).

Now, we've all heard the usual advice about mental health awareness: practice self-care, talk to a therapist, and get enough sleep, so let's real talk.

I just got this DM and figured I'd share it with you: 

I will sign up for your newsletter, I could use a boost of not feeling like a huge loser every time I post content on Instagram!! 

Girlfriend, welcome to the club. First of all, I totally get where you're coming from. Believe me, the feeling is real, so know you're not alone. But in the spirit of mental health awareness, let's start by acknowledging these feelings and the pressure on social. 

Two things about social media: 1. Remember why you're using it. If you're posting for your business, just focus on how you're serving your customers. And if you're scrolling for fun, ensure you're following those who are fun. 2. No one is paying more attention to you than yourself. So, if you're feeling like a loser, you're not showing up in the right way. Go back to number 1 and remember why you're using it. 

Instead, flip the coin and feel like a winner for showing up! It's hard enough to post online, so celebrate yourself when you do. Give yourself a high five, and be proud of doing the darn thing! When you look at it as a tool to help you grow your business, that's where you'll focus. Don't worry about how you look—just focus on how you are helping people by using a free marketing tool! 

Look, no matter how you feel when you're on or offline, this is your life we're talking about. And it's real stuff. Mental health awareness is a good topic to discuss whether or not you feel it affects you—we all do in some way. 

When you compare yourself to others or see a curated version of reality, focus on your journey and progress. Take breaks, chill out, walk, reach out to a friend, and have a good old belly laugh. And tell them how you feel. Sharing is caring, and we care about each other a lot. 

Ultimately, the goal is to cultivate a healthier relationship with yourself and prioritize your well-being above all else. And we could talk about this all day, but we have to go right now. I love you so much, but we have things to do! 

I have some new merchandise coming, and you're going to love it! I'm turning my sun icon into a character with legs so it can take the steps we need to take with you! I have a few more designs I'm working on, so please let me know if you'd like to take a sneak peek! And thank you for your support! I need it, and I will send it back to you! 

Love you. Gotta go. Bye! ✌🏻

xoxo

Tamara